Program for the 2009 Financial Research Association Meeting

December 12th and 13th, 2009

Saturday December 12, 2009

12:30 PM Pre-Meeting Coffee–Mariners Ballroom

1:00 PM Introductory Remarks

1:10 PM to 3:10 PM Session 1

Chairperson: Hassan Tehranian

Dividend Smoothing and Predictability
Author: Long Chen, Zhi Da, and Richard Priestly
Discussant/Presenter: Ralph Koijen

The Causal Impact of Media in Financial Markets
Author: Joseph Engleberg and Christopher Parsons
Discussant/Presenter: Stefano DellaVigna

Role of Managerial Overconfidence in the Design of Debt Covenants
Author: Jayanth Shyam, Sunder Shyam and Lian Tan
Discussant/Presenter: Geoffrey Tate

3:10 PM to 3:40 PM Break

3:40 PM to 5:00 PM Session 2

Chairperson: Micah Officer

Hedge Funds: Pricing Controls and the Smoothing of Self-Reported Returns 
Author: Joseph J. Gerakos and Gavin Cassar
Discussant/Presenter: Philippe Jorion

Libertarian Paternalism and Information Sharing
Author: Bruce Carlin, Simon Gervais, and Gustavo Manso
Discussant/Presenter: James Choi

5:15 PM Wine Tasting–2004 Brunello di Montalcino, Giorgio Ristorante, at Mandalay Place.

Sunday December 13, 2009

12:30 PM Pre-Meeting Coffee–Mariners Ballroom

1:00 PM to 3:00 PM Session 3

Chairperson: Christophe Moussu

Margin-Based Asset Pricing and the Law of One Price
Author: Nicolae Garleanu and Lasse Pedersen
Discussant/Presenter: Zhiguo He
Published: Review of Financial Studies, 2012, and recipient of the Blackrock/Brennan Award for Best Paper in the RFS.

Do Powerful Politicians Cause Corporate Downsizing?
Author: Joshua Coval, Lauren Cohen, and Chris Malloy
Discussant/Presenter: Eric Zitzewitz

Dynamic Incentive Accounts
Author: Alex Edmans, Xavier Gabiax, and Tomasz Sadzik
Discussant/Presenter: Michael Fishman

3:00 PM to 3:30 PM Break

3.30 PM to 5:15 PM Session 4

Audience feedback on early ideas.
Chairperson: Robert Parrino

Stephen Siegel and Henrik Cronqvist
Tom Bates and Micah Officer
Zhiguo He
Lars-Alexander Kuehn
Paul Irvine
Neal Stoughton
Wayne Ferson and Min Kim
Eric Zitzewitz and Jon Reuter

6:00 PM Dinner-Fleur de Lys